Blueroselady's Weblog

I wish you abundant happiness, health & wealth

Painting: The Beheading of Saint John the Baptist

leave a comment »

The Beheading of St John

Venue: St. John’s Co-Cathedral, Valletta, Malta.
St. John’s Co-Cathedral is the church with the most beautiful marble floor that I have been.

“The Beheading of Saint John the Baptist” by Caravaggio
is one of the memorable paintings that I have seen.
At first, I felt it was scary,
then yesterday I started to realize how mighty St John is,
he has to suffer such a humiliating death.

The painting is large, very large,
it stretches 1-storey high.

When I was 6 years old,
I stayed up late and my busy parents were too busy earning a living to take care of me.
I watched a scary scene in TV where the entire family members were beheaded.
I wondered how human beings can be so cruel to another.
Now, I do not remember the story, but that scene.
I have to keep telling myself that it is fake,
but movies are often based on real life experience,
if not imagination of people.

Lesson 1:
Roderick MacKinnon is right.
TV is bad for you,
including news.
Many news are about disasters and wars.
Do not watch or read about news
the 1st thing in the morning and
the last thing at night before you sleep.
If you must know about particular news,
it will come to you through your family, friends, or colleagues.
Dramas about personal (at smaller scale) to national (at larger scale) conflicts
are bad for you,
you may subconsciously pick up
how women quarrel with each other,
how men fight over money and women,
how countries grow greedy wanting other resources belonging to others.
Do not let your children watch shocking scenes without proper parental guidance.

Lesson 2:
Life must go on.
We can do nothing about the past,
we cannot help / save people who had gone / events that have occurred.
Learn from the past.
Focus on the present
and work for the future.
We can promote peace and harmony.
We can empower our future generation:
our children, our grandchildren, our great grandchildren.

Written by blueroselady

March 15, 2013 at 3:29 am

Leave a Reply

