Blueroselady's Weblog

I wish you abundant happiness, health & wealth

Media diet a la Blueroselady

leave a comment »

Have you ever felt overwhelmed by information (e.g. news)?
If yes, you may be interested to go for a media diet like what I do.

Recipe for 1-week media diet:
1. No newspapers. Most (negative) news e.g. wars, crimes, gossips, are bad when read in the early morning and before sleeping. Instead, have a morning breakfast of inspiring notes from the books we have read.
2. No magazines.
3. No non-music radio (but some radio channels have ads for upcoming events), so no radio seems better. I listen to my collection of pre-downloaded music in mp3 format.
4. No fiction books.
5. No newsletters (e.g. from credit card companies, alma maters, community organizers).
6. No web surfing unless it is necessary to complete a work task for today.
7. No news website (I prefer Gmail to Yahoo mail because after I signed off from Yahoo mail, it always annoyingly directs me to news, which I have to quickly shut down with strong will. No Yahoo mail.
8. Throw advertising flyers immediately.
9. Use a-max-of-5-minute important news update. Ask "anything important happening in the world today / this week?" Even if I do not ask, I will hear important news from my family, co-workers, and friends.
10. No TV, no serial drama, except for 1 high-quality 2-hour movie.

PS: I first started the 1-week media diet in the 4th week of Oct 2012.

Recipe for 1-month media diet:
Steps 1-10 of 1-week media diet plus
11. No facebook. I succeeded in surviving alternating months in 2012 without facebook at all. On my laptop screen is a note "no facebook until end of a particular month".
12. Set a time slot (on a day of the month) to collect news related to topic of my interest.

Related:
Blueroselady’s not-to-do list
Time management plan in 2011

Written by blueroselady

October 22, 2012 at 11:16 am

Leave a Reply

