Blueroselady's Weblog

I wish you abundant happiness, health & wealth

Life is beautiful: early AM breakfast of banana pancake with strawberries and maple syrup

leave a comment »

I woke up so early in the 3rd weekend of October 2012.
On Saturday, I woke up at 6.30 am and could not return to sleep.
On Sunday, I woke up at 4.30 am and could not return to sleep.
It is reminiscent of jet lag that I used to have, but now instead of ending up stress and worrying for not having enough sleep, I just follow the rhythm of my body. Perhaps, I will have a nap, though I did not have a nap on Saturday.

I ended up reading and cooking.
On Sunday, I made a breakfast of banana pancake with fresh California strawberries and maple syrup.

RECIPE
Serves 2 | Prep Time: 10 minutes | Cook Time: 10 minutes

Mix the following:
pancake flour
1 egg
1 cup of milk: I used banana milk to obtain the banana flavored
minimal butter

Eat with the following:
8 fresh strawberries from Santa Maria, California
Canadian maple syrup : real maple syrup not maple-flavored syrup

Serve with a cup of chocolate milk.
Dine accompanied with classical music radio.

Oh… life is so beautiful!
To me, this experience is worth much more than breakfast in a 5-star hotel.
I hate spending on things of high ratio of cost-to-value.
I love how I manage to enjoy the simple pleasure of life with low ratio of cost-to-value (i.e. high ratio of value-to-cost).

I made the pancake mixture with love (think of the farmers who bend every bend with love and hard work), cut the strawberries with the best hygiene I can afford to serve my child, and simply decorate my food for visual pleasure, besides enjoying the gastronomical pleasure.

I am so grateful for our open concept kitchen, where I can see our altar while mixing the pancake, and saying my morning prayer. My mind went to the couple who celebrated their 50th anniversary last night in the church. Their vows are almost the same as ours, except
1. different names of husband and wife
2. “to be my wife” vs “continue to be my wife”
Though we occasionally hear about such golden couples in the media, that was the first time I witnessed a real couple celebrating their 50th anniversary in the church.

I love the space in our home. I am grateful for all these, though I know that I must not attach myself to things. Enjoy them while they last, and be grateful! Better things will come if they have to go.

Strawberries are best enjoyed with companions.
Strawberries alone are sour.
With maple syrup (or chocolate milk dip, inspired from the sticks of chocolate coated strawberries), the sweetness will bring out the freshness of the strawberries.
I guess somethings in life are like strawberries, we need companions to enjoy and appreciate our lives.
I cannot help to smile remembering the joy of summer strawberries in England, fresh sweet strawberries that can thrive on their own.

Maple syrup reminds me on the beautiful red maple leaves in the autumn.
I spent a beautiful winter, spring, and summer in Canada,
hope that I can live in Canada over an autumn in the future, or an equivalent place with such a romantic autumn.
I will cherish every sunny autumn day,
and hide at home gazing out the window over rainy days, listening to the water pouring.

Written by blueroselady

October 21, 2012 at 2:46 am

Leave a Reply

