Blueroselady's Weblog

I wish you abundant happiness, health & wealth

Recipe: Kimchi fried rice (Bokumbap)

with one comment

My lover loves kimchi fried rice with a lot of garlic, he is simply Mad for Garlic.

In my 2nd trip to Korea, we enjoyed a BBQ meat with kimchi that is also BBQ-ed at Jonggak. Personally, I love hot kimchi than the cold kimchi.

In the 3rd weekend of September 2012, I cooked kimchi fried rice. The saying that “today’s leftover rice is tomorrow’s fried rice” is true and totally applies to many Asian restaurants, so it is better to have home cooked kimchi fried rice. To maintain freshness, I cook the rice the night before and put it in the refrigerator.

Serves 2 | Prep Time: 10 minutes | Cook Time: 10 minutes

INGREDIENTS:
kimchi
rice (I cooked it with dried silver fish, remember to break up the lumpy overnight rice with the back of the spoon)
egg (2)
garlic (3 small pieces)
minced pork meat (can use beef, bakwa, bacon)
pepper to taste
olive oil
sesame oil
soy sauce (1tbsp)

STEPS:
1. cook your sunny side up egg, garnish with sesame seed OR use spatula to break the eggs into small pieces. Put aside the egg.
2. hot wash and season minced pork with soy sauce, minced garlic, powdered pepper.
3. sautee the minced pork with olive oil.
4. when the meat is cooked, add kimchi (plus its liquid), minced garlic, cook for 5 min, turn off heat.
5. add rice, small pieces egg (if not sunny side up), mix all ingredients well.
6. add 1-2 tbsp sesame oil, re-heat.

PS:
1. You can also add spring onion leaves (cut into small pieces), I forgot to buy it.
2. I also have a recipe for kimchi hotpot.
3. A previous version of my home cooked kimchi fried rice. Honestly, I could not recall how I cooked it. Lesson: it is important to make notes.
4. I am craving for the Korean pancake that we had in Suwon.

Written by blueroselady

September 23, 2012 at 10:41 am

Posted in food

Tagged with , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Recipe: Kimchi fried rice (Bokumbap) (blueroselady.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

