Blueroselady's Weblog

I wish you abundant happiness, health & wealth

My simple frugal lifestyle in autumn 2012

with one comment

In three and half more months, we will be saying good bye to 2012.

Life has been pretty simple for me lately.
I am enjoying my simple life now.
I am grateful for having God, loving family, caring friends, supportive mentors.

I am grateful for my job, where I can earn and learn; I am always learning and preparing myself for the future.

Towards the vision of achieving my financial independence and realizing my grand dream (I want to help many poor children in my chosen ways), I become more conscious about my spending, saving, and financial intelligence than ever. This of course has implications on my lifestyle: the many decisions I make daily.

I strive to kick start and end my everyday with prayers of gratitude and guidance.

I strive to eat more healthy home cooked food using higher quality ingredients (e.g. olive oil).
I try to minimize dining out (for meals above $10 / per person) to once or at most twice per week.

I will go for free food after talks.
Like the IKEA founder Ingvar Kamprad who waits until the afternoon to buy his fruits and vegetables when the prices drop, we buy discounted bread after 9.30 pm for the next morning breakfast. For more inspiration, see the frugal millionaires.

I am increasing my financial intelligence by reading books borrowed from libraries / read at bookstores / e-books, and consulting my mentor K.

I am having good rests, especially in the weekend.

I appreciate the greenery near where I live: walking, breathing, thinking, nurturing relationship with my lover.
I prefer to watch (inspiring / romantic comedy) movies at home, I no longer need to spend on cinema tickets. If I have to watch in the cinema (e.g. for 3D movies), I will buy the cheaper weekday ticket than the weekend ticket.

I listen to music from radio / youtube (I no longer buy songs / CD).

I use public transport, gently fight for my seat with smiles, use my fist and mouth to protect my baby. I have no car now, but I am happy to have a car to support my future business.

I use delay rule when I want to shop for things above $50. Do I really need it? Can I be creative to use things that I already have?
I ask for samples and discounts, wait patiently for sales.

If possible, I minimize spending my free time in shopping malls to minimize temptation to shop for unnecessary things.
I shop with a shopping checklist.
I maximize the potential of my credit cards (to earn points) and always pay full outstanding amount to avoid the blood sucking 24% interest.

I am not going overseas in this autumn and coming winter (a huge saving on air tickets), yet I can do virtual travel at home, thanks to documentaries and travel books.

Since this summer, I have not shopped for any cloth, except for underwear.

Thankfully, my mother bought me some new clothes, my sister handed me few of her clothes (I do not mind second hand clothes).
However, I foresee that I have to shop for my baby, and it will be a happy bargain hunt.

I still donate a little amount for charity, I hope I can donate more as my income increases in the near future.
My life is simple and blessed.

Written by blueroselady

September 14, 2012 at 8:38 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] See also how I strive to minimize my expense through frugal lifestyle. […]


Leave a Reply

