Blueroselady's Weblog

I wish you abundant happiness, health & wealth

Movie: First Love / A Little Thing Called Love (2010)

leave a comment »

One of my favorite weekend activities is to watch movies together. I am so grateful for this wonderful time for bonding and loving. This weekend, we watched a Thai romantic comedy with the setting of school days. They said your school days are the sweetest, especially if you are working hard day and night in your adult life. To me, my school days were quite simple so I rely on these romantic movies to satisfy my desire of romance. No longer a school girl, I am grateful that I have a man who loves me and hugs me dearly every night (if he is not overseas). I count myself lucky!

About the movie:
Nam is an ordinary looking girl, her younger sister teased her ugly because Nam looks like Dad whereas her sister looks like their beautiful Mom. They help their Mom to run a guest house, an idea that I really love to explore in the future. I could relate to Nam because I look like Dad more when I was a little girl (and suffered cruel words by relatives), but I grew up into a feminine woman. Those words are no longer my concerns.

I love how the ugly duckling transforms into a beautiful swan within 3 years.
From getting her skin lightened (through rubbing by her friends, applying masks), ditching her spectacles, tidying her teeth through braces, to playing Snow White, majorette, and securing the first position in the final exam, Nam is really inspiring transform.
To our amazement, it is the same actress who plays both ugly duckling and beautiful swan.

My man told me that the power of make-up is beyond his grasp, yet I want to tell you that every girl and woman is uniquely beautiful, just that some men lack the talent to see their beauty.

A good friend KS told me that the ordinary looking people in the movie reminds him on his school days. Even if others think that you do not look as good as the prom queen, you have the rights to fall in love with the cutest boy in the school.

One of the three young friends of Nam looks like the female version of a good friend TL whom I saw almost daily while living in California.

Honestly, when we visit Thailand, we do not see many locals like Mario Maurer and Pimchanok Luevisadpaibul. I think Thai people love fair skin local girls, because they are rare in Thailand. People love rare things.

There is a scene of this movie that made me cry, when Nam went to tell Shone at the swimming pool that she has loved him for the past three years. She intends to give him a white rose, and when he just received it, she saw a writing on Shone shirt that Shone belongs to Pin (Nam’s senior), they became a couple just a week earlier. Nam was too sad, she managed only to utter "you both are very matching", and fell into the pool.

My man was trying to console me, unlike Taiwanese movies which tend to be arty-farty and have sad endings, Thai movies tend to have heart-warming endings. Indeed, this movie allowed me to sleep in warm as compared to You Are the Apple of My Eye that makes me sad.

Written by blueroselady

July 15, 2012 at 8:13 am

Leave a Reply

