Blueroselady's Weblog

I wish you abundant happiness, health & wealth

How to go home on time

leave a comment »

I want to go home on time and still get everything done!

My life turns better in 2012. If I have to work later, it will not be later than 7.30 pm to avoid the 6 pm rush hours.

Strategy: PERK
P = Postpone
E = Eliminate
R = Reduce
K = Keep

List all my activities (including mundane ones like washing myself, dishes, and clothes) to meeting friends.
Next to each activity write: P, E, R or K.

In the last week of 2012, I eliminate some documents (that I think I will not need again for the next 1 year).
I keep some important points in softcopy.

Things I have applied PERK in 2012:
minimize watching / reading news online or through print media (I will get important news through people who are closed to me).
avoid boring gatherings (with distant relatives, friends) / professional talks indirectly related to my current projects.
discard useless emails (by marking them as Spam).
fasting from social media e.g. facebook.

Note:
My family is my man.
The in-laws are the in-laws.

In the near future (few years down the road), I want to work from home a few days a week.
To suggest to boss, say "flexi-time" or "telecommuting" instead of "working from home".
The latter may sound like a pseudo-vacation day.
Choices of words do matter.
It will be better when I am my own boss.

More:
book "The Other 8 Hours" by Robert Pagliarini
https://blueroselady.wordpress.com/2011/12/22/to-be-discipline-with-time/
https://blueroselady.wordpress.com/2009/11/28/book-time-management/

Written by blueroselady

May 31, 2012 at 3:12 pm

Leave a Reply

