Blueroselady's Weblog

I wish you abundant happiness, health & wealth

Admirable work ethic

with 3 comments

In mid March 2012, I read a news entitled “Swiss voters reject 6 weeks paid vacation”.

Why?
It is not suprising to me.
More vacation will increase labour costs and risk the economy.

The Swiss has a special place in my life journey.
Being benefactors of parts of my learning experience, I can only be grateful to them.
Though 1 of my former bosses dislikes the Swiss for being self-sufficient, I still have POSITIVE impressions on the Swiss.
I admire your work ethic!

The lesson for me from this event is:
individual freedom comes with responsibility.
To have only freedom is disastrous to oneself.

Swiss Justice Minister Simonetta Sommaruga said taking 2 more weeks of vacation is not the best way to fight stress.
So what is the best way to fight stress?
I love to hear from you my Dear readers.

Written by blueroselady

March 15, 2012 at 2:39 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh wow, 6 weeks is quite a long time. I think most people will get quite lazy with 6 weeks of vacation in a year. On the other hand, the thought of having that sounds wonderful…

    Ged

    March 15, 2012 at 3:51 pm

    • Ged, you are right that the thought of having 6 weeks for our own is wonderful, especially if we can meet all our responsibilities (perhaps by working extra hours, be more effective in our work) yet still have more time for us to relax, rest, travel and grow.
      It also depends on the nature of jobs.
      Some jobs require employee to be on site, some allow them to work from anywhere around the world. I dream the latter a lot!

      blueroselady

      March 17, 2012 at 2:11 am

      • Very true. My job allows for flexibility which is great because you can regulate it so you are not too burnt-out. Still, time off from work is better than working all the time.

        Ged

        March 17, 2012 at 9:24 am


Leave a Reply

