Blueroselady's Weblog

I wish you abundant happiness, health & wealth

The moment when I am not well

leave a comment »

March 11th

my sore throat since the day before worsened into fever.
@ night, took panadol with vit C. Palpitation side effects.
I think a lot (many things flash in my mind).
Do you think a lot when you are having fever?

March 12th

see a doc. Still slight fever 37.4 C.

I was given the following medicine:
Mac extra lozenges : for relief of sore throat
fedac tablet : for flu / itch / rash (may cause drowsiness)
vasican 8mg bromhexine) tablet : for phleghm

While waiting, I read a magazine related to baby

Epigenetics? Although genes themselves do not change, they are expressed diff due to envi stimulatn.
E.g. A bee baby fed with royal jelly will be a queen bee, if not a worker bee.
Possible epigenetics factor:
Folate (eat before and during pregnancy): leafy green veg, fruits, dried beans.
Iron.
PUFA: salmon.
C-section babies are born sterile hence more prone to infection, solutn: breastfeed.
Breastfeed: 1st liquid after baby is born is the most impt; breastfeed for min of 6 mths.

JUST RIGHT is better than TOO MUCH or TOO LITTLE.

Acknowledgement: Livewell Baby magazine

March 13th
Since my cough gets worse, I decided to see our favorite doctor.
Dear doctor out there, do you know that being friendly can give hope to your patient?
We need more patient-centric-doctors

This doctor is more generous that the one I say on March 12th.
I was given the following medicine:
axcel papain : for inflammation / swelling
SoloSyl lozenge (each contains 0.6 mg amylmetacresol BP, 1.2 mg 2,4 dichlorobenzyl alcohol)
cetirizine 2HCl 10 mg : for running nose / itchiness
dhasedyl syrum: for cough (it makes me drowsy and palpitate)
cefadroxil 500 mg: antibiotics

What is cefadroxil?
first-generation cephalosporin antibacterial drug.
against both Gram-positive and Gram-negative bacterial infections.
Cefadroxil is widely distributed to body tissues and fluids. It crosses the placenta and appears in breast milk.
“Cefadroxil has been assigned to pregnancy category B by the FDA. Animal studies failed to reveal evidence of fetal harm. There are no controlled data in human pregnancy. Cefadroxil should only be given during pregnancy when need has been clearly established.”
Cefadroxil is considered compatible with breast-feeding by the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Honestly, I am very concerned about taking antibiotics.
But, my cough is beyond my control, whenever I cough, my body will vibrate / shake fiercely that results in headache and stomachache (the structure of my stomach).
People at public transport also shun me (even if I have covered my mouth and curl at a corner).
What a dilemma.
If possible, I strongly discourage you from taking antibiotics because they will disrupt your microbe enviroments for as long as 2 years!

On a positive note, when you take antibiotic, you cannot forget Alexander Fleming.
I read about him (on my own interest) while I was a primary school kid.
I love his accidental discovery of penicillin.
Honestly, I do not think it is accidental at all.
He has been searching with his deepest intention for anti-bacterial agents, having witnessed the death of many soldiers from sepsis resulting from infected wounds.
Quoting Henry Harris, “Without Fleming, no Chain; without Chain, no Florey; without Florey, no Heatley; without Heatley, no penicillin.”
Blueroselady, “without penicillin, no other antibiotics”.

I visited St Paul’s Cathedral without knowing Alexander Fleming was buried there. If I knew, I would love to pay my tribute. It is ok, as long as we keep on be productive for humanity, it is a kind of tribute to our predecessors too.

Written by blueroselady

March 13, 2012 at 7:08 am

Leave a Reply

