Blueroselady's Weblog

I wish you abundant happiness, health & wealth

Instagram, Instant Retro, vintageJS, Pixlr-o-matic

with one comment

Time flies since I graduated from high school at the age of 17. Yes, I was the youngest in the class! I think this is a blessing. ok, enough talking about myself. I want to be humble, and we can be humble by being aware that whatever we have are gifts from God (for my non-believer friends, I would say gifts from the universe).

I love vintage photos, they are so timeless and nostalgic, they can bring back countless happy memories. Not having the latest technology should not deter ones from having beautiful memories. Here, I am reviewing a number of tools / software to create everlasting pieces of memorable photos.

Review period: January 2012

Photoshop:
Pro: like a shop, it has many things that we need.
Con: steep learning curve.
Will I use it again? I have been using it. I have to keep on learning!

Instagram:
Pro: easy to use, I saw my sister use it on the spot.
Con: must have iPhone, Mac, which I do not have.
Will I use it again? Yes!

vintageJS
http://vintagejs.com
Con: need internet access to upload, slow to upload / edit.
Techniques: Vignette (darken edges), Vignette (lighten center), Adjust curves, Screenlayer, Through the viewfinder, Desaturate, Blur on edges
Will I use it again? No.

Instant Retro:
Con: slow to upload, to add effects (edit).
Techniques: darken edges, lighten center, screenlayer, desaturate, roll, sun, Ttv, burned, lens, rounded, Fuji, bricks
Will I use it again? No.

Pixlr-o-matic
Con: must upload photos
e.g. : The Hagrid filter darkens the photo and makes it grainier, while the Focal texture washes out the center and adds scratches across the face of the photo.

Picplz
Con: must sign in using Facebook / Twitter.

While I am doing review, I am listening to some beautiful songs, including Wang Jie. I love her so much. Her eyes are smiling!

Written by blueroselady

March 2, 2012 at 3:49 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. In Apr 2012, I started to use Instagram on an android phone! Very happy!

    blueroselady

    April 14, 2012 at 12:00 pm


Leave a Reply

