Blueroselady's Weblog

I wish you abundant happiness, health & wealth

Leader: Nelson Mandela

leave a comment »

When and where did I first learn about Nelson?
when I was a primary school kid.
International news.
I love to watch the international news more than domestic news, perhaps the “international” reflects my adventurous spirits.
I have always been curious about the world out there, the exotic places, the wonderful people of our planet, and the extraordinary human endeavors.
Having no money to go travel, I traveled in my mind through brochures of beautiful destinations.
I love a brochure on South Africa so much, with pictures of many animals like girrafes with elegant long neck, the fierce lions, and the wildness of Africa.
Then, I got curious about the people.

In my primary school days, I had no pocket money, but somehow I managed to buy a biography of tata Nelson.

When I first learned that this hero of mine had been imprisoned for 27 years, which is ~3x of the length of my living days at that time, I kept on thinking about it. I imagined if I were in Nelson’s shoes, could I have the 1/3 of his determination and dream?

When Nelson was just released, a reporter asked him,
“How do you feel having waited for 27 years for this moment?”

Nelson replied, “I did not wait, I prepared”.

Although Nelson had been lock physically, nobody cannot lock him mentally.

In February 2012, I attended a talk in which Nelson was mentioned.
Then, I realized that the perseverance of Nelson (and other inspirational people) had subconsciously been imbibed in my soul.

Thank you Nelson! I want so much to hug you as if you were my grandfather.

Looking back of my life, much of what I have achieved today can be attributed to perseverance. My life is still long and I want to be more determined in my worthy undertakings.

Below are random new things that I learn about Nelson.

What is the Elders?
“This group can speak freely and boldly, working both publicly and behind the scenes on whatever actions need to be taken,” Mandela commented. “Together we will work to support courage where there is fear, foster agreement where there is conflict, and inspire hope where there is despair.”

“I stand here before you not as a prophet but as A HUMBLE SERVANT of you, the people. Your tireless and heroic sacrifices have made it possible for me to be here today. I therefore place the remaining years of my life in your hands.”
Speech on the day of his release, Cape Town (11 February 1990)

Written by blueroselady

February 19, 2012 at 12:19 am

Leave a Reply

