Blueroselady's Weblog

I wish you abundant happiness, health & wealth

Boston and Cambridge, MA

leave a comment »

This is a note from my roller-coaster trip to Boston last year.

Taxi from Logan to Cambridge is $55 / way (tips, toll, waiting time). It is more economical to take the T (subway, underground, train, whatever you call it).
I need to take the green line T, which was quite a learning experience. You have to look at the final destination of each coming T.

I went to Harvard Museum of Natural History.
Love to the famous Blaschka GLASS FLOWER collection. The flower model was made by pasionate botany teacher between 1886-1936.
Thanks to a Harvard member, my admission is FREE.
Well, for some places (museums, religious sites with historical and artistic values) that allow people to enter for free, I will donate more to them when I got my job.
Saw many people take photos rubbing the foot of John Harvard. A Harvard student said that some students have peed there, so are you still interested to rub the frequently-urinated stone?

I heard of Concord nearby, where Thoreau pened Walden there. It reminds me on RICH IN SUNNY HOURS.

One of the 5 Bostonians is a university student.

We saw BOSTON PRIDE, the 2nd largest event in the city after the July 4th. Boston LBGT community comes out for a parade to Boston Common. So lucky to be us!

Whenever I am called to duty, whenever flames may rage,
Give me strength to save a life whatever be its age.
Help me to embrace a child before it is too late,
or save an elder person from the horror of that fate.
Enable me to be alert to hear the weakest shout,
And quickly and efficiently to put the fire out.
I want to FILL MY CALLING and to GIVE THE BEST in me,
To guard my every neighbor and protect their property.
And if according to my destiny, I must the earth depart,
Please bless with your protecting hand those closest to my heart.

From DK Eyewitness Travel
1. Mark Twain once observed that “In New York, they asked what a man is worth. In Boston they ask, “what does he know?”
2. … a trend of academic affiliation that became almost the rule for Boston’s investors.

Written by blueroselady

June 4, 2011 at 1:22 am

Posted in travel

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

