Blueroselady's Weblog

I wish you abundant happiness, health & wealth

Imagination is more powerful than knowledge

leave a comment »

Albert Einstein once said, “Imagination is more powerful than knowledge.”
Recent travel opportunities, which I am grateful for, have enhanced my imagination.

A picture of Tripoli (Lebanon) in the golden hour (where the sun is warm yet so intensely yellow and passionately orange and the water reflects shimmering sunlight) is so surreal that I think I have (mentally) visited Tripoli. I can feel myself transform into a white-feather bird, flying carefreely above the waterfront, gazing at the mosque tower with the sun behind it. A man was sitting on the rock and fishing peacefully. I can even smell the sea and listen to azan.

Compared to my parents or my grandparents, I am indeed very fortunate. The number of countries that I have visited (lived for some of them) is greater than the number of years I have lived. This is a far cry from the fact that my grandfather could not even visited his motherland.
Compared to my globetrotting peers, I am still much a country bumpkin.

Given that one may not have the resources (time, $, health / stamina) to visit a large number of places worldwide, I propose we use our imagination to travel. You can see more places and prioritize the top destinations that you must visit before departure (I mean real departure).

To do:
# earn $ (no money = no journey).
# win free or partially-fully sponsored trips.
# pursue a career / job which allows you to travel.
# make friends globally (people are huge sources of inspirations).
# exercise -> stay healthy.
# research (watch documentary, read books, travel magazines), borrow from libraries / friends, take from flight cabins.
# (VIP) keep your dreams and imagination.

Robert Kennedy said, “Some men see things as they are and ask why. I dream things that never were and ask, why not?”

Tips to improve imagination:
Be childlike.
Pursue a creative hobby. Learn how to draw, paint, knit, write, or play an instrument.
wannalearn.com

Written by blueroselady

February 25, 2011 at 3:38 pm

Leave a Reply

