Blueroselady's Weblog

I wish you abundant happiness, health & wealth

Movies watched in winter Jan 2011

leave a comment »

On the flights, I managed to watch these 4 movies (partially or completely):
Eat, Pray, Love
Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps
Love in Disguise (戀愛通告)
Cyrano Agency
I am grateful for the experience because I seldom have time to watch movies due to busy schedule.

Some reflections:
Eat, Pray, Love
I learned about it when a roommate of mine was reading the novel by Elizabeth Gilbert which is about a woman’s search for everything across Italy, India, and Indonesia. Notice the 3 countries’ name begin with I. (I, I, I).
In the travels, the main characters discovers the true pleasure of nourishment by EATING in Italy; the power of PRAYER in India, and, finally and unexpectedly, the inner peace and balance of TRUE LOVE in Bali.
Personally, I have neutral feeling towards the story.

Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps
, also known as Wall Street 2
Jacob “Jake” Moore, an ambitious, young proprietary trader, reminds me on a Gates’ scholar I know.
Working in finance seems to offer bigger hope in our incomes, but the risk and stress are also high.
Give me a number? More. Please do not fall into this trap.
Ideally, we should set a target and once we reach the target, we could pursue other dreams.

Love in Disguise

Like the very long hair of Liu Yifei, like the ancient Chinese beauties.

Cyrano Agency
Sang Yong’s proposal at the beach, by giving a large shell with a diamond ring inside is romantic.

Movies to see:
The founding of a republic
The founding of a party (to mark the 90th anniversary of the Communist Party of China)
The Grandmasters (Wong Kar Wai’s biopic of Wing Chun teacher Yip Man, starring Tony Leung, Zhang Ziyi)
Dans la Lumiere (about Aung San Suu Kyi, directed by Luc Besson).

Written by blueroselady

January 22, 2011 at 2:49 pm

Leave a Reply

