Blueroselady's Weblog

I wish you abundant happiness, health & wealth

PhD students are actually salesmen and beggars

with one comment

From http://phdcareerclinic.com/:
The position was for sales and it is one of the toughest jobs in the pharma industry (in my opinion, having done it).
I said that I may not have done pharma sales, but I had to do a lot of selling in the course of getting my PhD.
I had to sell my adviser on the value of my thesis topic.
I had to sell my peers and faculty on my research at every seminar presentation.
I had to know how to get a group of professors together to be on my thesis committee and coordinate them so that I can actually graduate on time.
I spent 7 painful years getting it, even had to take medical leave one summer because of the stress and the depression, so I earned this degree with hard work and years of my life, and no one can ever take this away from me.
It doesn’t matter to me that I don’t use my degree because I am not working as a biochemist.
What I gained as a result of this journey gave me the fortitude to do things I’d never believed I could do otherwise.
I always saw my PhD as an asset, and it was up to me to show others why this was the case.
Thank you so much for sharing!

What is MSL? happen to browse through Jane Chin linkedin.
A medical science liaison (abbreviated as MSL) is a healthcare consulting professional who is employed by pharmaceutical, biotechnology, medical device, and managed care companies. Other job titles for medical science liaisons may include medical liaisons, medical science managers, regional medical scientists, and regional medical directors.

I beg and beg my supervisor to read and approve my chapter.

Think positive, keep on going!

Written by blueroselady

November 12, 2010 at 3:08 pm

Posted in career

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. lolol. at least they statistically make more over their life time than those with ba, bs, ma, or ms’s. 🙂

    Michael

    November 12, 2010 at 3:16 pm


Leave a Reply

