Blueroselady's Weblog

I wish you abundant happiness, health & wealth

Be a microfinance lender

leave a comment »

Thanks to the Kiva (www.kiva.org),
now I can be a microfinance lender.

How does it work?
A small entrepreneur (can be an individual or a group) apply for a loan via Kiva, for example USD 1000.
Multiple lenders can support this entrepreneur each by lending as little as USD 25.
The lender does not charge any interest, but the field partner does to support their running cost (I choose to trust Kiva to ensure that the field partner does not over charge interest to the small entrepreneur).
After this loan is repaid, the lender can use the fund to give another loan.

I started very small, but starting small is better than not starting at all.
My parents also started as small entrepreneur and now their children (at least my sister and I) are enjoying university education. Both my sister and I have scholarships to support our university tuition fee, so it is my turn to give back to the world to the best of our capacities.

In the long run, I hope that I could help many small entrepreneur from as many countries as possible.
I hope that KIVA will support more small entrepreneurs from developing countries such as China.

Written by blueroselady

November 5, 2010 at 8:20 am

Leave a Reply

