Blueroselady's Weblog

I wish you abundant happiness, health & wealth

Brida by Paulo Coelho

with one comment

I started reading the work of Paulo Coelho after my first encounter on The Alchemist, recommended by Edward Chin Wang Lee. It was many years ago.

I just finished reading Brida last night. Brida is a young Irish girl who struggles to find a balance between her relationships and her desire to become a witch.

“Miracles could not be explained, but they existed for those who believed in them.” page 16.

“Learning something means coming into contact with a world of which you know nothing. In order to learn, you must be HUMBLE.” page 42.

“Everyone has a Gift, but some are born with a more highly developed Gift than others — me, for example — who have to struggle really hard to develop their Gift. People who were born with a Gift have very samll, attached earlobes.” page 44.

“No one could make a choice without feeling afraid.” page 76.

“No human being who has walked this planet was or is different from the others.”
“Judging oneself to be inferior to other people was one of the worst acts of pride he knew, because it was the most destructive way of being different”. page 82.

“Both men and women are extremely vulnerable to the force of sex, because during sex, pleasure and fear are present in equal measure.” page 112-113.

“Being human means having doubts and yet still continuing on your path.” page 172

“The first road to God is prayer, the second is joy.” page 183 on Sabbath party.

After finishing Brida, I am reading The Witch of Portobello now.
This is the month of witch for me.

Written by blueroselady

March 15, 2010 at 3:17 pm

Posted in book

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello! So ha, it’s going to sound weird, but I am Edward Chin Wang Lee. I was just googling myself to find some of my previous works (I swear I was not being narcissitic), and I came across this blog entry. Just curious, do I know you, and how did you find this recommendation?

    Ha – I’m glad you liked the book though.

    Cheers,
    Ed

    Edward Chin Wang Lee

    June 16, 2010 at 6:16 pm


Leave a Reply

