Blueroselady's Weblog

I wish you abundant happiness, health & wealth

Swissair: an ending legacy

leave a comment »

I read from the Wikipedia that McKinsey was partially responsible for the demise of Swissair after they recommended The Hunter Strategy. Like the frog under the well, I did not know that Swissair has long gone. I remembered that a friend told me that he just flied with Swissair last year. Alas, Swissair, one of the major international airlines and known as the “Flying Bank” due to the financial stability of the airline, causing it to be regarded as a Swiss national symbol and icon, adopted the Hunter strategy in the late 1990s and after the economic turndown following September 11, Swissair’s assets dramatically lost value grounding the already troubled Airline in October 2001.

I always think of the Swiss precision and efficiency, but human beings are prone to errors, no matter how talented they are.

This example made me think of some interesting observations.
There are known unknown.
There are unknown unknown.
No companies, enterprises, winners, civilizations, countries, are going to stay forever. The differences lie on the time scales. For an average company, surviving its 5 years is a good job. For an admirable company, surviving 50 years is excellent. For countries, they may thrive centuries and perhaps millennia.

Like them, we human beings are considered very fortunate if we are able to live up 100 years based on today living standard. Our days are counted. What can we do then? Instead of chasing 2Fs (fame and fortune), or 6Cs (cash, car, credit cards, career, condominium / property, club membership), or people (beautiful women, rich men), why don’t we live to give our gifts to others? We come to this world bringing nothing, we will leave carrying nothing too. Easy to say, hard to do. I myself still suffer from human conditions (wrath, avarice/greed, sloth, pride, lust, envy, and gluttony).

Wrath = anger = rage = hatred. When somebody wrongs me, I try to think in his shoes, perhaps I would do the same if I were him. This way, I have less anger. I also think of their mothers, who love them very much. We share universal respects for mothers, and no mothers want to see their children being harmed, even if their children are evil.

Avarice = greed. We always want more and more, don’t you? I admire monks and nuns, priests and sisters, they gave up their worldly things for God or enlightenment.

Sloth = the failure to utilize one’s talents and gifts. It refers not only to being lazy, but also to being selfish and indifferent to share our talents and gifts.

I will write more on the rest in the future.

Written by blueroselady

March 11, 2010 at 12:22 pm

Posted in God

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

