Blueroselady's Weblog

I wish you abundant happiness, health & wealth

Walking with Christ in Lent 2010

leave a comment »

Lent is a good opportunity for us to ponder the way we conduct our pilgrimage through life.

Pope John Paul II told Tony Melendez (www.tonymelendez.com), “My wish to you, is to continue to give this hope to all the people.” Ever since, Tony started to travel, sing, and talk to young people around the world.

“I see a person like you who has arms and everything, and you say ‘I can’t, I can’t! Yes, you can! You can!”

We can be attracted to do God’s will but only if is EASY or CONVENIENT for us. Jesus shows us that doing God’s will is not only arriving at the RIGHT DESTINATION, but also walking the RIGHT PATH. No Robin Hood way, ok?!

True belief in God does not put God to the test, even when we do not see the light at the end of the tunnel. For example, when we do not score As in our exams or not get promoted in our career or become a millionaire or get the woman we like, we should not blame God.

Walking with others. Blesed Mother Teresa once said, “Being unwanted, unloved, uncared for, forgotten by everybody, I think that is a much greater hunger, a much greater poverty than the person who has nothing to eat.”

It is easy for us to be so caught up with the ATTRACTIONS and CONCERNS of this EARTHLY LIFE that we forget to focus on You.

When we take the opportunity to distance ourselves from the details of our lives, we can see the BIGGER PICTURE and understand how things migh be interconnected that would otherwise be missed when we keep our eyes too close to the ground.

“How come he has stage four cancer? He is such a good person.”
” So many people died in the recent disasters. How could God let this happen?”
Our questions reflect our habit of trying to find reasons for suffering and death. This habit gives rise to our tendency to think that for very bad incident somebody is responsible.

? What kind of traveller am I?
? What occupies my attention most while I am on my way?
? Doest the parth I am taking feel like it is leading me TOWARDS or AWAY from the heart of God?

? What are my gifts and talents? How have I not used my gifts and talents for others? Note: we face the constant temptation to make use of our talents and gifts for our own benefit.

? How have I been preoccupied with my own PLEASURES or PAINS to see that GOD has a plan for me? What are some ways I can regain my view of the “BIG PICTURE”?

Instead of worrying why earthly life is imperfect and eventually ends, it is more important to concern ourselves with living life well — so that we can share eternal life with God.
? What is my attitude toward death? How do I come to terms with the fact that my life will end one day?
I aspire to learn and share new things, old stuff that I have learnt but forgotten, with you.
I aspire to love my parents and Darling more.
I aspire to make positive contributions to this world, without seeking fame and fortunes ($).
I aspire to treat my friends better, forgive my enemies.
I aspire to help those poor in love and hope.

We could actually continue on in “the motions of life” without knowing something so important to us was missing.
? What is important to you that is missing in your life right now?

God is the Prodigal Father who welcomes home his wayward children without demanding any explanations.
All of us who claim to be good Catholics, “older sons”, we have to be careful not be the one who lack compassion towards our brothers and sisters from the fringe of society.

Lord, make me an instrument of Your place. Where there is hatred, let me sow LOVE; where there is injury, PARDON; where there is doubt, FAITH; where there is despair, HOPE; where there is darkness, LIGHT; and where there is sadness, JOY.

? Have I experienced the forgiveness of someone after I disappointed him or her?
? How would I respond if I recived unconditional charity from others?  With cynicicm and distrust, or with HUMILITY and GRATITUDE?
In His wisdom He knows that a LOVE that reaches out is a better motivator to ethical living then fear of punishmen.
We can imitate Jesus, say to those wo disappoint us, “Neither do I condemn you, go away, and don’t sin any more”.

Written by blueroselady

March 6, 2010 at 12:56 pm

Posted in God

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

