Blueroselady's Weblog

I wish you abundant happiness, health & wealth

Garden and Tax at La Jolla

leave a comment »

My lab-mate’s wife, my shuttle mate and I went to take photos at the garden at our neighbourhood. People apply for a spot to do gardening. An old Chinese couple gave us mini tomatoes and herbs – smells good, I said Thank You in Chinese, and they are so happy.

I saw hummingbird, but could not manage to catch them, need faster and zoomer lens. My shuttle-mate told me that it became so beautiful in La Jolla, in early Sep. Yes, that’s my HK photographer teacher’s fav season: autumn (or fall they call it here).

The Californian sun is very strong, We just spent the morning 10.30 am to noon, and I got my sandal tan and another tan on the exposed part of my arms, the difference is magnified by the wrist stripe. Darling don’t like me to get tan, so I got to reduce going out under the sun. If I could not avoid it, I must bring umbrella (but it is weird if I am going with friends).

For lunch, I have Japanese curry with tofu, mixed seafood, mushrooms of 2 types (but no my fav shitake), carrot, veggie, plus Korean side dish of salted small fish. Desert is a green tea mochi ice cream. Thank God for your generosity.

Now, Bank of America sent me Form W-9 (Request for Taxpayer Identification Number and Certification). They sent me 2 identical forms, what a waste of paper & postage.

What is backup withholding? Persons making certain payments to you must under certain conditions withhold and pay the IRS 28% of such payments. Payments that may be subject to backup withholding include interest, tax-exempt interest, dividends, broker and barter exchange transactions, rent royalties, nonemployee pay, and certain payments from fishing boat operators.

If you are foreign person, do not use Form W-9. Instead, use the appropriate Form W-8.

*Sigh* I guess I will never be a lawyer, I don’t understand the documents. Generally, an amount is subject to withholding if it is an amount from sources within the United States that is fixed or determinable annual or periodical (FDAP) income.

This info is for BOA: Do not send Forms W-8 to the IRS. Instead, keep the forms in your records for as long as they may be relevant to the determination of your tax liability under section 1461.

An individual who has provided a Form W-8 may be treated as a foreign person if: The withholding agent has in its possession or obtains documentary evidence (which does not contain a U.S. address) that has been provided within the past 3 years, the documentary evidence supports the claim of foreign status, and the individual provides the withholding agent with a reasonable explanation, in writing, supporting his or her claim of foreign status

I gave up, I will ask my lab secretary.

Written by blueroselady

July 26, 2009 at 12:19 am

Posted in experience, photogprahy

Leave a Reply

