Blueroselady's Weblog

I wish you abundant happiness, health & wealth

French Onion Soup

leave a comment »

On 18th Jan, I went to buy milk and was given a plastic of old veggies, there were 2 onion, some carrots, a parsnip, and some tomatoes inside. I kept only 1 of the 4 tomatoes, as they are damaged. Then, I got this idea why not make a French-styled onion soup on 19th Jan. We love the Winter Paris French Onion Soup very much.

My recipe is very simple.
~ Cut the onion, fry with olive oil until it softens.
~ Cut carrots.
~ Boil hot water, put 2 cubes of beef-flavor OXO
~ Put onion, carrot into the soup. Add some garlic pepper powder.
~ Heat wheat sliced bread with left-over olive oil on frying pan, put a bit of French Smiling Cow cheese on top of bread and let it melt.

It took me 1.5 hours to prepare and eat. The most time-consuming part is cutting the onion and carrots. Honestly, the taste is not as good as the one I had at Disneyland, but it’s not bad for first timer. Perhaps if I replace the water with red wine, it will taste better, and let it cook slowly to allow the aroma to get in. I also like the bread!

french_onion_soup1

Written by blueroselady

January 19, 2009 at 3:28 pm

Posted in food

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

