Blueroselady's Weblog

I wish you abundant happiness, health & wealth

Revision of Christianity, Trading off between peace and warmth

leave a comment »

It’s so cold in the library that in order to preserve my poor fingers, I used my laptop adaptor as a heat pad. I love the tranquility of the library, I can concentrate here.

@~@

Dear friends

Some interesting phrases about Christianity from services, masses, and a book Purpose-Driven Life in this entire year, which I am revising this weekend and would like to share with you.
~ Lamb of God: Jews people used lamb for scarifice. Passover. Jesus replaces the animals that are slaughtered with himself. 1st Letter of Paul to Corinthians 11:23-26.
~1 Corinthians 1:26-31. As scripture says: if anyone wants to boast, let him boast about the Lord.
~ Matthew 5:1-12. The poor in spirit means those who rely on God, not those who rely on their own intellectual and power.
~ Psalm 42: As the deer yearns for running streams, so my soul yearns for you; As the deer yearns for running streams, so my soul yearns for you, my God.
~ Romans 8:8-11. People who are interested only in unspiritual things can never be pleasing to God.
~ A reading from the 1st letter of St Peter (3:15-18): And if it is the will of God that you should sufer, it is better to suffer for doing right than doing wrong.
~ Do not be afraid, I am with you. I have called you each by name. Come and follow me, I will bring you home; I love you and you are mine.

~ Every part of a church service is an act of worship praying. Scripture reading, singing, confession, silence, being still, listening to a sermon, taking notes, than music, giving an offering, baptism, communion, signing a commitment card, and even greeting other worshippers.

~ God gave us eyes to enjoy beauty, ears to enjoy sounds, our nose and taste buds to enjoy smells and tastes, and the nerves under our skin to enjoy touch. Every act of enjoyment becomes an act of worship when we thank God for it.

P.S. I typed them hohoho, instead of doing copy & paste from internet.

Written by blueroselady

December 8, 2008 at 9:33 pm

Posted in experience, God

Leave a Reply

