Blueroselady's Weblog

I wish you abundant happiness, health & wealth

Barack Obama and Tony Leung

with one comment

Sometimes we observe similarities among people across gender and race. A daugther can look very alike her father, a son resemble his mother so much, yet we are still able to differentiate their gender and race. Why don’t we focus on our commonalities? As an aspiring scientist, I am desperate in finding similarities among our molecules, so that we can understand them. I am still learning how to be a careful observant, yet missing good photographic opportunities for many occasions, depending heavily on discussions with collaborators, and forgetting many things in my daily life. Anyway, the purpose of this entry is to tell you that I think Barack Obama and Tony Leung look alike. Both have a lanky figure, that kind of melancholy yet  enchanting look through their eyes, historical lines of smiling on both cheeks, and charisma. Physical apart, both are very hardworking and determined to get into what they are now, these are the most important commonalities.

Honestly, I pretty admire Tony Leung, probably I was a great fan of Wong Kar-Wai’s artistic movies, but as I proclaim toward living a positive lifestyle, I bid farewell to that kind of genre. My admiration on Tony Leung was troubled when he played to movie Lust Caution, some parts are not right, my little soul cried. Nevertheless, he is one of the Hong Kong actors who deserves respects for all his contributions.

I was on a torturing 3-hour bus to Heathrow when an American sat next to me in September this year. He is a Republican, he asked where I am from (see my entry on “Where are you from originally?”). He said that I must support Barack Obama given our commonality. Frankly, I don’t know what to answer. First I got no voting rights. Second, I am not educated on politics worldwide, but shame to me, like it or not, whatever happen in the States, are going to affect our lives. I heard about this man prior to starting PhD, and I wanted to read his book, and I only managed to read the Chapter 3 of his “Dreams from My Father” yesterday evening. Got to work more, my Dear! One famous saying from the philosophy that I generally adopt is “Wind sound, Rain sound, reading books sound, every sound get into ears”, means we have to be concerned on what happen in our family, country, and everything under the sky.

Written by blueroselady

November 16, 2008 at 10:26 pm

Posted in book, experience, movie

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Absolutely Tony Leung and Obama look alike. Particularly his character from Lust, Caution. They have the exact same face, lines, everything. It’s actually eerie.

    York

    January 17, 2009 at 7:12 am


Leave a Reply

