Blueroselady's Weblog

I wish you abundant happiness, health & wealth

Blessed Mother Teresa

leave a comment »

Mother Teresa
August 26, 1910 – September 5, 1997

We are blessed that we live in an era in which we can witness the lives of saints. One of them is Mother Teresa, a simple woman with a profound faith & total abandonment to God. Here are some of her quotes that inspire me. These are reminders for me to love God more deeply & to follow Him more closely. Hope they will inspire you too.

*
By blood I am Albanian. My citizenship is Indian. I am a catholic nun. As to my calling, I belong to the world. As to my heart, I belong entirely to the heart of Jesus.
*
There are so many religions and each one has its different ways of following God. I follow Christ: Jesus is my God, Jesus is my Spouse, Jesus is my Life, Jesus is my only Love, Jesus is my All in All; Jesus is my Everything.”
*
Of course I convert. I convert you to be a better Hindu or a better Muslim or a better Protestant. Once you’ve found God, it’s up to you to decide how to worship him.
*
There is only one God and He is God to all; therefore it is important that everyone is seen as equal before God. I’ve always said we should help a Hindu become a better Hindu, a Muslim become a better Muslim, a Catholic become a better Catholic. We believe our work should be our example to people. We have among us 475 souls – 30 families are Catholics and the rest are all Hindus, Muslims, Sikhs—all different religions. But they all come to our prayers.
*
Every day some miracle happens.
*
Everybody today seems to be in such a terrible rush, anxious for greater developments and greater riches and so on, so that children have very little time for their parents. Parents have very little time for each other, and in the home begins the disruption of peace of the world.
*
God will find another person, more humble, more devoted, more obedient to him, and the society will go on.
*
I believe in person to person. Every person is Christ for me, and since there is only one Jesus, that person is the one person in the world at that moment.
*
Like Jesus we belong to the world living not for ourselves but for others. The joy of the Lord is our strength.
*
Keep the joy of loving God in your heart and share this joy with all you meet especially your family. Be holy – let us pray.
*
I choose the poverty of our poor people. But I am grateful to receive (the Nobel) in the name of the hungry, the naked, the homeless, of the crippled, of the blind, of the lepers, of all those people who feel unwanted, unloved, uncared-for throughout society, people that have become a burden to the society and are shunned by everyone.
*
I have had some very large donations from wealthy people, but most of those who give are ordinary people. The other day I had a letter from a church in America and inside was a letter from someone who had enclosed a check for $3. A gift of one rupee means as much to me as milk brought to help homeless children.
*
I have never been in a war before, but I have seen famine and death. I was asking (myself), “What do they feel when they do this?” I don’t understand it. They are all children of God. Why do they do it? I don’t understand.
*
I once picked up a woman from a garbage dump and she was burning with fever; she was in her last days and her only lament was: ‘My son did this to me.’ I begged her: You must forgive your son. In a moment of madness, when he was not himself, he did a thing he regrets. Be a mother to him, forgive him. It took me a long time to make her say: ‘I forgive my son.’ Just before she died in my arms, she was able to say that with a real forgiveness. She was not concerned that she was dying. The breaking of the heart was that her son did not want her. This is something you and I can understand.”
*
I see God in every human being. When I wash the leper’s wounds, I feel I am nursing the Lord himself. Is it not a beautiful experience?
*
I try to give to the poor people for love what the rich could get for money. No, I wouldn’t touch a leper for a thousand pounds; yet I willingly cure him for the love of God.
*
I was expecting to be free, but God has his own plans.
*
I will work all day. That is the best way.
*
It is a poverty to decide that a child must die so that you may live as you wish.
*
It’s not how much we give but how much love we put into giving.
*
Kind words can be short and easy to speak, but their echoes are truly endless.
*
Let no one ever come to you without leaving better and happier. Be the living expression of God’s kindness: kindness in your face, kindness in your eyes, kindness in your smile.
*
More tears are shed over answered prayers than unanswered ones.
*
Nakedness is not only for a piece of cloth, but nakedness is a loss of that dignity, human dignity: the loss for what is beautiful, what is pure, what is chaste, what is virgin. Loss. Homelessness is not only for a house made of bricks – homelessness is being that people are completely forgotten, rejected, left alone, as if they are nobody to nobody.
*
Please choose the way of peace. … In the short term there may be winners and losers in this war that we all dread. But that never can, nor never will justify the suffering, pain and loss of life your weapons will cause.
*
Smile at each other, smile at your wife, smile at your husband, smile at your children, smile at each other — it doesn’t matter who it is — and that will help you to grow up in greater love for each other.
*
Start and end each day with prayer. Come to God as a child.
*
The hunger for love is much more difficult to remove than the hunger for bread.
*
The other day I dreamed that I was at the gates of heaven. And St. Peter said, “Go back to Earth. There are no slums up here.”
*
The trouble is that rich people, well-to-do people, very often don’t really know who the poor are; and that is why we can forgive them, for knowledge can only lead to love, and love to service. And so, if they are not touched by them, it’s because they do not know them.
*
There is always the danger that we may just do the work for the sake of the work. This is where the respect and the love and the devotion come in –that we do it to God, to Christ, and that’s why we try to do it as beautifully as possible.
*
To keep a lamp burning we have to keep putting oil in it.
*
We can not do great things. We can only do little things with great love.
*
Abortion is murder in the womb … A child is a gift of God. If you do not want him, give him to me.
*
When I see waste here, I feel angry on the inside. I don’t approve of myself getting angry. But it’s something you can’t help after seeing Ethiopia.
*
When once a chairman of a multinational company came to see me, to offer me a property in Bombay, he first asked: ‘Mother, how do you manage your budget?” I asked him who had sent him here. He replied: ‘I felt an urge inside me.’ I said: other people like you come to see me and say the same. It was clear God sent you, Mr. A, as He sends Mr. X, Mrs. Y, Miss Z, and they provide the material means we need for our work. The grace of God is what moved you. You are my budget. God sees to our needs, as Jesus promised. I accepted the property he gave and named it Asha Dan (Gift of Hope).
*
Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not yet come. We have only today. Let us begin.

Written by blueroselady

October 29, 2008 at 10:09 am

Posted in experience, God

Leave a Reply

